You’re Not Running For Nothing – There’s Purpose In Your Race

1 Cor 9:26 (NIV) Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air.

I want to share my encouragement this morning that you are running this race, this “Christian life race”, FOR A PURPOSE. The number one purpose is to run it with Christ. To run this race of life with an awareness that Christ is with us.

For those who don’t know, I have another blog on health and wellness called Give Me Ninety. I am in the midst of a 30 day commitment to 30 minutes of cardio exercise daily. DO YOU THINK I WOULD DO THIS FOR NO GOOD REASON? Do you think I would make a commitment to 30 minutes of exercise for 30 days without any thought for the benefits of it? That’s 900 minutes I’m about to spend on exercise… Of course there is a benefit to the running. THE BENEFITS ARE MY MOTIVATION.

The Father wouldn’t ask us to do something that held no benefits. I don’t ask my kids to do things aimlessly. I try to bring a purpose or a lesson to everything I ask them to do. When I ask my daughter to throw something away, I am not just doing it so I don’t have to. (it’s a bonus though) I am building responsibility into her character.

Today I want to encourage a new-found sense of PURPOSE IN YOUR RACE. Realize you are not running aimlessly. You are not just beating the air. You are running for relationship. You are running for love. You are running this life because it’s so much better than the one you’d be running otherwise. You are running for treasures that will LAST FOR ETERNITY. How many are running their live away for THINGS THAT WILL PASS AWAY?

I’m up this morning, just spent time with the Lord and wrote my blog for the day. It’s now 10:07am and I am READY TO RUN TODAY… (Both literally and figuratively ha ha)

Leave a Reply

