You Are The Apple of His Eye

Today I wanted to share the notes from the message I spoke last Friday at Prince of Peace Church.

I will be elaborating on some of these points here soon, but for today just enjoy the notes below and know today that you truly are the apple of the Father’s eye!

Apple Of The Eye – Psalm 17:8

(I started by sharing several versions of the scripture to enhance its meaning)

NET ©

Protect me as you would protect the pupil of your eye!1  Hide me in the shadow of your wings!2 

NIV ©

Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings

NASB ©

Keep me as the apple of the eye; Hide me in the shadow of Your wings

NLT ©

Guard me as the apple of your eye. Hide me in the shadow of your wings.

MSG ©

Keep your eye on me; hide me under your cool wing feathers

BBE ©

Keep me as the light of your eyes, covering me with the shade of your wings,

NRSV ©

Guard me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings,

NKJV ©

Keep me as the apple of Your eye; Hide me under the shadow of Your wings,

The apple or “pupil” of the eye, is the gateway through which visible light passes and is converted by the brain into three-dimensional images.

The original Hebrew phrase, often translated “apple” really means “little man” or “little daughter” of my eye. (We get the word “pupil” in school in reference to the children, or the little man/woman)

When we stand very close to someone, we can actually see a tiny reflection of ourselves, in the center of the other person’s eye. Once again, it refers to the fact that you can see a tiny version of yourself in the eye of the beholder. When you are in the “apple” or even just the “pupil” of my eye, you are close to me, in more ways than one…

The Lord spoke and said to me, “The way you can continually see YOURSELF IN ME is to remain face to face.”

There is nothing the Father wants more that to see Himself in YOU…

At infancy, the optimal distance for eye to eye contact is about 10 inches – which just happens to be the distance between a baby and its nursing mother. This simple interaction encourages brain development, release of critical hormones, and reinforces a sense of emotional and spiritual well-being. “You are the apple of my eye.” It’s a phrase that a mother could easily use to describe how she cherishes her nursing baby. But the root meaning of this phrase is found not in the expression of human love but a love that is not of this world…the love of God.

What do we often call a new Christian? BABY CHRISTIANS

As we grow, develop and learn, we tend to lose this closeness for some reason. I am before the Lord saying that even though I have grown in my understanding, I still need the closeness of a small child, face to face with Him.

I need to see myself in Him afresh again.

Leave a Reply

