Jason Heilman – Personal Update – A Musician’s Journey into the Health and Wellness Field

Jason Heilman – A Personal Update

Written April 23, 2013

Greetings Friends!

First thing I want to say is I recently reached a personal goal of becoming a Certified Nutrition Coach with Venice Nutrition. “Wait a minute? Aren’t you a worship leader?” Yes, but God had me step away for a few months to reach some new goals. One of my goals with this update is for the people who have known me as a musician over the last 15 years to understand what God has ADDED TO my life and how this is going to help me reach out to even more people in expanded ways.

I’m sitting here in a favorite coffee shop of mine in Grapevine, TX just two days shy of my 37th birthday feeling compelled to share what’s been happening with me personally, especially over the last six months. I really felt led to share this with ALL OF YOU. However you may know me, I felt compelled to publicly share at this stage of my life and journey and hope that many of you will take a few minutes to read the following… It may just encourage you in your journey, and, I hope many of you take interest in some of the things I and my family will be doing in the very near future.

This past winter season has truly been an “underground season” for me, a time of planning and preparing. I truly feel new life on many of the areas of my journey and, as the season of spring approaches, I feel spring parallels my life as many new things are literally springing forth… So, please, read on, be encouraged, inspired and enjoy.

God, you want me to What???

Last summer I lived out a dream. I took my family on an 8,000 mile, three-month road trip and ministered all over the United States. The interesting thing is that, during the latter half of doing the very thing I was passionate about, I began to feel God leading my  focus away from this very thing upon the completion of the summer tour. I felt as if there was a new season God was directing me to. Now yes, I always feel shifting constantly to be honest, as if things are always shifting. That is the nature of life. But this time was different. This time I felt I was to actually lay down travel and music for a season of time. And the reason I knew this was God was because I honestly did not mind. I knew what I was hearing, I just didn’t know what I was going to do next.

My recent personal health journey and transformation

I’m sharing this with you because it has a lot to do with what I have recently been up to and some awesome things I am excited to begin. 16 months ago I was physically a different person. To make a long story short, I have personally had an extreme transformation regarding my physical health and lifestyle. 16 months ago I weighed 260 pounds and was living an inactive life and was ignorant of issues related to physical nutrition. I completed a 90 day challenge that transformed my mind and my body and lost 35 pounds in the process. Over the 2012 summer tour I gained some of that back because it was hard to maintain that lifestyle on the road for so long. God began to speak to me about starting “phase 2” upon my return home. During the autumn of 2012, I began to see success on a new level and I began to feel a sense that this physical transformation journey I was on was going to impact many more lives than just my own.

Get a Job?

In October of 2012 God spoke to me to go get a job. Not a ministry job. Not a worship leader job. (I was actually hired as a worship pastor at a church in September but God told me to turn it down) A “secular job.” Let me tell you that out of obedience to God I began praying and looking for this job. I had no idea where I would go or even why I was doing this, to be honest with you. I went from traveling the nation and world, doing what I had wanted to do for a decade, to going to work doing something unrelated to what I’d been passionate about for 15 years. (or so I thought) What I did know is that this job had to be related contextually to something I was newly and also passionate about. And, if it wasn’t music, what would it be? It came down to the fact that it had to be about health/wellness/nutrition/food. That was the only other thing I was really passionate about and so I felt led by a God-given passion. I went to check out a business that I had applied to online when I noticed another business just two doors down called My Fit Foods. I walked in to that store and I “knew” that was where I was going to work. Two weeks later, at the end of October 2012, I started there on a part-time basis. Over the past 6 months I’ve been working there, learning the ins and outs about this business and industry. That was just the beginning.

BACK TO SCHOOL!? Becoming a Certified Nutrition Coach with Venice Nutrition

I’m writing to share with you because many of you probably have NO IDEA that over the past six months I’ve been working this job and GONE BACK TO SCHOOL. I didn’t go back to school in the traditional sense.

After getting this job, I felt led to actually become Certified in Nutrition. What this does NOT mean is that I would sign up to sell weight loss shakes and call myself a nutritionist. Nothing against this. I was being led to seek an education regarding nutrition and I found the program I was looking for in Venice Nutrition. It was further confirmed that I should go with Venice when I received a gift check in January for the amount of the cost of the program. This was the final confirmation I needed and in January 2013 I began studying, using much of my free time devoted to studying nutrition and human physiology. Over the past four months I’ve put in well over 100 hours into this program and I am excited to announce that on April 17th I passed my final exam. I am now officially a Certified Wellness/Nutrition Coach through Venice Nutrition in accordance with the International Board of Nutrition and Fitness Coaching. I am officially launching a new Nutrition Coaching Business at this time called Give Me Ninety.

A NEW MINISTRY TOO?

Ann-Marie and I heard God speak to us to go to Hawaii in November of 2012. The crazy part about this was that He told us to go in October. Nobody plans something like this in less than a month, right? The Heilmans do when God tells us to. In less than a month we had all our tickets and expenses met for travel and lodging for a week in Hawaii. We have been praying for years about the possibility of us moving to Oahu to work with the indigenous Hawaiian people. We love the Polynesian peoples of the earth. So we went on this trip with intents to pray and listen. We stayed with our Native Hawaiian host Kealoha and her awesome husband from Guam, Rudy. We were really blessed to share Thanksgiving with them and their large family and to experience a true Hawaiian Thanksgiving, which including eating octopus and sea-snail! When we came to the end of our trip, we had an interesting feeling regarding our experience that week. It seemed as if Ann-Marie and I had both had our eyes opened to Hawaii in a new way. We really had a new-found sense as to what the realities of daily living on this island would be like. We also left feeling as if we ever were to move there, it was not going to be anytime soon. Great news for the grandparents in TX!

So upon returning home, God began speaking to me about Euless, TX and the fact that Euless has one of the biggest populations of Tongans per capita than any other city in the United States. I was talking to God about moving thousands of miles away to reach Polynesians and here God was talking to me about the Polynesians 10 minutes down my street in my own city.  A few weeks prior, God had spoken to me to drive down to the area where there were several Tongan Churches and to pray. My prayer drive led me to the parking lot of an AOG Tongan Church. I ended up meeting with the Pastor of that church that day. Since that first meeting, we have launched a facet of our ministry called First Nations First, a ministry devoted to reaching indigenous peoples of the earth wherever they may live. I’ve been ministering to the Tongan community through prayer and food distribution over the past few months. My desire is to take this ministry up many notches in the near future to help reach the Tongan community in Euless through practical and spiritual means.

It’s not about Giving Up… It’s about Adding To

Looking back, I realize that God was not asking me to give up music or travel when He spoke to me last summer. God was not asking me to Give Up… He was speaking to me to Add To… To pause, add, and continue the journey with an increased arsenal.

I have added new facets to my education and understanding that will ultimately lead to even more ministry and more changed lives in expanded areas that reach the whole of a person… Physically, Emotionally and Spiritually.

FULLY Claiming Our Kingdom Inheritance through Christ in EVERY REALM

I’ve come to realize that when our physical bodies are hindered, it hinders us in the other realms of our person, namely, our soul and spirit. I personally have come to re-claim my Kingdom Inheritance regarding areas of the physical realm. I feel so much better through what I’ve learned AND put in to practice. I’ve learned to claim the health that is mine as a child of God. This is what I am excited about, not just starting a Nutrition Coaching Business, but to also begin ministering a more well-rounded message than I’ve ever shared before in 15 years of ministry.

As a musician who’s main desire is to see people renewed through the power and presence of God through music, renewal has and is at the forefront of my public ministry to others. I am now melding what I’ve learned about the physical man over the last six months in to the life message that I carry. It’s a message of living our best life NOT JUST in the Spirit, but in all realms… Body, Soul and Spirit. Our inheritance in Christ pertains to every realm of who we are. It’s not just about having moments of spiritual bliss, it’s about maintaining a lifestyle synonymous with the way Christ desires us to treat our bodies, deal with our daily emotions in addition to connecting with God via our spirit. I’m currently working on developing a new message, “Reclaiming the Frequency of Eden” that I will be sharing with the Body of Christ in the near future. This title and theme has everything to do with what Jesus Christ has redeemed for us, body, soul and spirit. What was lost in the garden CAN BE OURS AGAIN through Christ. What did they have physically, emotionally and spiritually/relationally with God in that Garden? It’s a foreshadowing blue print for what God desires for us Today! And we can have it through Christ. We just need to learn how to differentiate between God’s desires for us in every realm and the pulling realities of the fallen world and system that surrounds us. I am still on this journey, and I am excited to share the success I’ve had in maintaining more of a Kingdom Reality in my life. And no, I am not great at it yet, ha ha… But I do know I have some things to share that will impact others lives and I know that YOU have things to share that will impact me as well.

Conclusion

Thank YOU for reading this update. Thank you for the interest you’ve taken in my life, my ministry and my family. I hope this update has shed some new light on who God is continuing to make me to be. And finally, simply stated, I desire to be a benefit to your life. I hope in the past I have been and I hope to continue to be.

For more information on the new nutrition facet of what I am doing, please visit

givemeninety.wordpress.com – For more on our new ministry facet, First Nations First, please visit fnfministries.com 

Blessings,

Jason

One Response to “Jason Heilman – Personal Update – A Musician’s Journey into the Health and Wellness Field”

  1. Jeannie Heilman Says:

    We are proud of you Jason.
    I am so amazed with your writing skills also.
    love,
    mp,

Leave a Reply

