The “BIG BREAKTHROUGH” MYTH… consistency is the key

“When am I going to finally have the breakthrough?”

It’s a question I, and probably many of you have asked yourself and others… When will I finally arrive? When will I finally get to that “next level.”

I’ll be 36 in less than a month… I’ll be honest with you and tell you I think I’ve lived a great, blessed life thus far.

I’ve been travelling for about a decade, playing music, ministering to others and it’s been a blast…

I’ve also worked random jobs like cleaning carpets, delivering/driving gigs, Craigslist gigs, selling stuff on eBay, designing websites, creating podcasts, doing focus groups, creating seminars and so many other crazy things…

I have 3 cd’s out and released my first book two months ago and have sold over 250 copies… I’ve played music from Maine to L.A. and all in between… led teams to many nations… And we are planning to go on a 3 month summer tour this year travelling from Houston TX to the Midwest and through New England… AND YET, AS MY WIFE AND I TALKED TONIGHT, SHE BROUGHT UP AN ISSUE OF “WHEN WILL THE BREAKTHROUGH COME.”

I had to tell her, and I am being candid sharing this with all of you readers, that LIFE IS A SERIES OF BREAKTHROUGHS – THE “BREAKTHROUGH MYTH'” IS WHEN WE THINK THERE IS THIS MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH THAT AWAITS US, AND ONCE WE GET THAT ONE, WE WILL “ARRIVE” AND NEVER NEED ANOTHER.

It’s just not true. It’s not true for anyone… Even those who break through to places many of us would call “arriving” often simply end up eventually descending from this precipice…

What I’ve come to realize is that life is a series of breakthroughs… You don’t really arrive at a “broken through” level in which you never have to work hard anymore or do the things you had to do to get there… In fact, once you break through, it’s often just another beginning…

What I want to do here is to RELIEVE YOU of thinking that WHERE YOU ARE NOW IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

ENJOY THE NOW… 

I’ll be honest, to me the worst thing about a break through is that you break through and then you go through what I call the “now what phase.” Realize that working towards goals are often more fulfilling than reaching them, because once reached… NOW WHAT?

I’m often thinking of my next project or tour or trip… often while I’m in the midst of a current one… Why? Because it’s called living life. There will always be a new thing on the horizon… I think that what people call “arriving” can actually be a negative thing.

Take this quote, for example, from a 40-year-old well-known actor/musician Will Smith… “It’s quite highly possible that I have peaked. I mean, I just can’t imagine what else I could do beyond this. It’s really a bittersweet kind of feeling.”

It’s great that W.S. did so much by 40, but the feeling that there wasn’t anything else to accomplish was what he referred to as a “bittersweet” feeling…

In Galatians Paul says that, “God has created us to do good works that He planned in advance for us to do…” I believe this and I believe that no matter how many “breakthroughs” I have, there will always be more until He takes me home.

At our first book launch in January this year, I had a guy get the book and ask me to sign it. Then he turned to our pastor and said, “I got to get him to sign it in case he GETS BIG some day…”

This bothers me to no end. First of all, define “getting big.” If he means I’ll be on TBN some day, well then I’ll pass on being big. What he means is when I’ll be famous or well-known one day… (I like to say that I’m famous to everyone who knows me…ha ha…)

The point is fame is elusive, especially when you get it because someone else is just waiting around the corner, ready to replace you.

The other day, I asked a friend if he remembered a worship leader that was very well and nationally known in the mid-latter 1990’s… He remembered him right away. Then I asked him if he knew what he was doing now… He had no clue… I went on to tell him that this FAMOUS WORSHIP LEADER from the 90’s is now a pastor of a church that meets in a YMCA… Nothing wrong with that, I think it’s awesome… My point was that the limelight fades, it fades on everyone… Whether you believe it or not, some day you’ll be able to ask a kid who Brad Pitt was and they won’t know… Times changes, popularity fades…

So my philosophy… Why pursue what can’t last anyways… Jesus told us to store up treasure that will never rust or fade away…

So as I end, I encourage you to run the race James talks about… Run for the long haul… Run for the many little breakthroughs along the way… I guarantee this way of living and this perspective will help you enjoy life a whole lot more…

Listen, every trip I’ve planned, every project I’ve worked on thus far etc… It’s all been done, accomplished and it blessed lives… But then, we have to move on to what’s next… We have to enjoy it for what it is… We have to have a perspective beyond the now, that God has received it for an eternal weight that we yet don’t fully grasp and have peace with that…

What I’m saying is, don’t waste your time waiting for something that might not actually exist… In other words, don’t wait around for this “major breakthrough” that will propel you into a whole new level for the rest of your life… Life is a series of breakthroughs, and yes, some are seemingly larger than others… But I can tell you that “large” breakthrough only occurred because of 100’s of forgotten, smaller ones along the way… For example, every time I made time to work on my book over the course of 3 years was a small break through, even though I never really considered this… Each of these added up and eventually, in January 2012, the synergy of all of that effort culminated in the release of a completed work… So enjoy the process…

LISTEN, I LOOK BACK ON THE PAST DECADE OF MY LIFE AND I HAVE TO THINK… WOW, LOOK AT ALL THE BREAKTHROUGHS… LOOK AT ALL THAT I ACCOMPLISHED AND ENJOYED… NOT, WHEN WILL I EVEN ARRIVE…

Listen… I have arrived, I am arriving, I will arrive…

You have arrived… you are arriving… you will arrive…

True “arriving” is arriving at the realization that the enjoyment of this journey IS THE BREAK THROUGH…

Talk to you soon… Jason

5 Responses to “The “BIG BREAKTHROUGH” MYTH… consistency is the key”

  1. Excellent insight. My wife just commented yesterday that God dropped a thought in her heart and it was, “Are we there yet?” Almost every kid asks this but in the looking forward to what’s coming they miss what is. Lord, may I not miss what is. Help me to enjoy every word, every face, every challenge – every nuance of life.

  2. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME ARTICLE! THIS HELPED CHANGE MY PERSPECTIVE ON BREAKTHROUGHS. APPLYING THESE PRINCIPLES IN THIS ARTICLE WILL LEAD TO CONTENTMENT, JOY AND PEACE!

  3. Thanks for your comments!

  4. Excellent post! Very, very well said Jason.

    Currently I am 54 years old. I’ve been a musician since I was age 16. In 2006, at age 48, I released my first album as a solo artist, and have released an album each year since. My previous years in music were spent either in bands or on hiatus but the anticipated “fame” never arrived.

    Even with having 6 albums out and three more on the way, the “fame” still has never come. But that does not matter to me because the joy God has given in the experience of what my (solo artist) music means to the listeners far outweighs anything fame could ever provide.

    Honestly, it took a while to get my head into this way of thinking; (my heart was always there). For a while I was bitter that I never got to play in front of thousands, never made the “big time”. I could care less about that now, but it did take continual “breakthroughs” to get here.

    I have come to look at my life in decades; age 30-39, age 40-49, age 50-59, etc. I can point to something specific in each decade that was a major breakthrough, a major event that further shaped me [in Christ]. I anticipate each new decade because I know something really cool and good is going to happen in my life; plus all the “little things” that will also occur.

    Now, even at 54, I’m growing and expanding upon my music by getting into (composing for) other areas like Film/TV, video, podcasts, teaching, etc. And I’m excited about it because I further get to express this gift within, and who knows where God will have the music go and who He will minister to with it.

    C’mon age 60-69!

Leave a Reply

