Day 32 of 47 days… 47 quotes from the new book The Potential of God’s Presence…

From Chapter Eight – The Minstrels

My observance is that in many modern-day church circles, people can often become familiar with a comfortable repertoire of songs. I once drove past a church with a sign that advertised their meeting with a banner that read, “Thirty-Minute Worship.” People can become used to certain styles of music and durations of time so that whenever they are presented with something different, something that breaks the form, they become uncomfortable. 

If you are comfortable, the possibility exists that you may not be growing. When I work out lifting weights, I am sometimes sore the next day. That uncomfortable feeling is a sign that something is happening. I pushed my body beyond what was comfortable. Over time, I will become comfortable with the weight that once made me sore, and I will have the option to press on even further. Sometimes you have to risk being uncomfortable in order to explore expanded places in the presence of God. 

Pre-Order The Book Today

Leave a Reply

