The Differences between Worship Leader, Psalmist, & Minstrel Part 3

Pre-Note – Please Read: This three-part series has easily been the most popular post on my blog getting upwards to 50 search hits WEEKLY… If you’ve found this post through a search or any other way, I want to encourage you to watch the following 4 minute video and consider ordering my new book The Potential of God’s Presence. There is 100x more info in this book than I could ever share in a blog post… Bless you on your journey to discover more about worship leading, the minstrel, psalmist and more… (added November 1, 2011)


The Minstrel

2 Kings 3:15 “But now bring me minstrel. And it came to pass, when the minstrel played, that the hand of the Lord came upon him (Elisha) and he prophesied…”

This scripture is foundational in understanding the anointing and role of the Minstrel as well as the relationship between the minstrel and the prophetic ministry.

Though the scripture does not elude to Elisha calling for a Minstrel at any other time in recorded scripture, it is apparent that he had done so before. The relationship between Elisha and the Minstrel was one of a partnership, joint for the purpose of hearing the thoughts and intents of the Lord. Elisha knew that when he called the Minstrel forth, the anointing upon the musician would create an atmosphere conducive to hearing the the Lord. The prophetic word that Elisha went on to speak was brought forth in the atmosphere created by the Ministrel. Of course, there will be times when the prophetic comes forth without the service of a Minstrel. But it is apparent here that the Minstrel is called to create atmospheres conducive to hearing the Lord and releasing the word of the Lord. In other words, when the Minstrel creates, people start hearing God!

David: The Psalmist and Minstrel

David is the best example in recorded scripture of one who both flowed in the ministry of both a Psalmist and a Minstrel.

An example of David ministering as a Psalmist is seen in the entirety of Psalm 43, “Vindicate me, O God, and plead my cause against an ungodly nation; rescue me from deceitful and wicked men. You are God my stronghold. Why have you rejected me? Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy? Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell. Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise you with the harp, O God, my God. Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”

It is not at all out of the realm of possibility that David sang this Psalm as he played his harp. David grew up tending his Father’s sheep in the fields. He had a lot of time to spend with the Lord. It is during these years that David’s heart grew as a worshipper and psalmist. It is apparent through many of the Psalms that David composed that he had a close and personal relationship with God. It was out of this place of intimacy with the Lord that he was anointed to minister to others. David flowed in such an anointing upon the harp that he actually began to gain a reputation in the land. How do we know this? Let’s look at 1 Samuel 17:17-18, “So Saul said to his attendants, “Find someone who plays well and bring him to me.” One of the servants answered, “I have seen a son of Jesse of Bethlehem who knows how to play the harp. He is a brave man and a warrior. He speaks well and is a fine-looking man. And the Lord is with him.” The servant in this scripture had actually seen David play the harp before. I believe that David had already built up a reputation as a Minstrel in the land. How else would this servant have known about him? Now, David was about to go from the sheep field to the palace. God was taking one of His Psalmists and releasing David to minister to man through the skill and the anointing that he had developed in the presence of the Lord.

1 Samuel 16:19-23, “Then Saul sent messengers to Jesse and said, “Send me your son David, who is with the sheep.” So Jesse took a donkey loaded with bread, a skin of wine and a young goat and sent them with his son David to Saul. David came to Saul and entered his service. Saul liked him very much, and David became one of his armor-bearers. Then Saul sent word to Jesse, saying, “Allow David to remain in my service, for I am pleased with him.” Whenever the spirit from God came upon Saul, David would take his harp and play. Then relief would come to Saul; he would feel better, and the evil spirit would leave him.”

We see that David had the anointing, as a Minstrel, to play the harp and create peaceful atmospheres in which King Saul was able to be at rest. It never says that David sang during these times, but only mentions that he played upon the harp. This is a prime example of a Minstrel creating an atmosphere simply with instrumental music. David did not need to sing, “Be at peace.” David’s music exuded peace and all Saul had to do was enter in to the atmosphere that David was anointed to create.

Since my goal is to really share more on the Minstrel… I ‘ve releases a new book that you can find at www.thepotentialofgodspresence.com – Please check it out

Talk to you soon… Jason

39 Responses to “The Differences between Worship Leader, Psalmist, & Minstrel Part 3”

  1. SO AWESOME JASON….THANK YOU FOR SHARING WHAT YOU ARE HEARING FROM GOD. WE HERE AT SPIRIT OF TRUTH FAMILY CHURCH …S. ROCKWOOD, MICHIGAN ARE HEARING THE SAME THINGS FROM GOD. HE IS SPEAKING….OH….THAT HIS PEOPLE WILL HEAR HIS VOICE TODAY…THROUGH YOU AND THOSE HE ALSO HAS CALLED TO SPEAK TO THE NATIONS. GOD BLESS YOU. EDIE FRANK

  2. Good stuff man. I like it.

  3. Sheldon Says:

    Hi Jason,

    Thanks for the information. I have been struggling with this for some time now in my local church. The pastor of my church operates in the prophetic gift. Whenever the music team is ministering, he sometimes comes out of seat and shifts the worship mode by making them to sing a song of his choosing or just to make an annoucement. Is this scriptural?

    Another thing, is it biblical to allow a total stranger whom you don’t know as a pastor in a local church on the pulpit and to lay hands on members of the congregation?

    Thanks,

    • On the first thing, I think that one of the hardest things for leaders to discern is what direction to go in during a gathering. When a leader is facilitating a meeting, there are usually multiple directions that he can go… There are many people in the meeting that are at different places going through different things. In the context of an hour or two hour meeting, I think it is pretty much impossible to address all the needs. One thing I would say is that our weekly meetings are not supposed to fulfill all of our spiritual needs. So I would say that this Pastor, as the leader, has the right to flow where he feels God is leading him as a leader. Just know that all of the people in your church and THE church also have the rest of the week to seek the Lord, so if it does not all come down during the church service, realize that this is just a small part of our overall spiritual life. Just because a leader goes in a direction that is not what you were sensing, it does not invalidate either sense because I believe the Holy Spirit speaks many things.

      The second part I don’t think I have all the info on it from you, but if a Pastor endorses someone to do this then I would trust the leadership of the Pastor and trust who he allows to minister… I don’t really see how this would even happen unless the leadership knew about it… I go in as a guest all the time, but the leaders know me so the people trust me because they trust leadership…

      thanks for your questions,

      Jason

  4. Praise God for the difference between musicians and minstrels. How can I get parts 2 & 3?

  5. Edward look under the teaching series… for part one through three

  6. Blessings!

    Thank you for the teaching, As a worship leader I am hungry to study the word regarding setting the atmosphere for God’s presence to dwell among us

  7. Natalie R. Bullock Says:

    This is interesting. How do I get parts 1 & 2?

  8. Natalie R. Bullock Says:

    I saw the answer I needed in someebody else’s question. Thanks.

  9. Benson Jaja Says:

    Great insight on the Minstrel topic, luv 2 hear more bless u n more grace..

  10. thank you for teaching me

  11. I love your site!!! Thanks for pouring out truth and revelation to us. This is a topic I a very passionate about. Can you give me the links to parts 1 & 2 please? I searched your site and couldn’t find it. Thanks!

    • Hey there… The easiest way to find this is to look in the archives for January 2010… Click on it on the right side of the blog under archives and then scroll down and search for them… all three parts are in January 2010… and if you like this, I really encourage you to get the new book which comes out Jan. 23… pre-order at http://www.thepotentialofgodspresence.com – thanks for your comment – Where are you from? What’s up with you?

  12. You have enlightened me so much,thanks. May double ur anointing.

  13. Great stuff I get here

  14. Thank you. This is edifying!

  15. Brother, I have been looking for this kind of information for months. I totally needed this. Thank you so much for being obedient. I look forward to reading your book.

  16. Lots of questions over the last almost 30 years of ministry. Look forward to reading more and discovering even more answers. Thanks

  17. This is really good. Wher do I fine parts 1 & 2, anyone?

    • Hey there, thanks for the comment… If you go to the sidebar and click on the “blog categories” select “teaching series” and scroll down until you see parts 1 and 2… Hope you enjoy the blog – Jason

  18. Thanks for your explanation, it is well understood. I now understand what the word minstrel is. May the Lord give you more wisdom to bring clarification of his Word to hungry souls like me. thanks again.

  19. jenebiwari ogolo Says:

    God bles u i pray dat God wil increase you grace in d knowledge of Him. Hw do i oder 4 d book. I seriously need it, bcose i wil be speaking on “the purpose of a Psalmist and the Minstrel” in a Worship conference in the Month of JUNE 2014. I need Materials. Let me know

  20. Hello Jason , like your self I just got called to be a minstrel . And was looking for books on it and came Acrossed you video . If you can email me how to get your books or what ever you have for me to learn I would so love all that you have . Karen

  21. El-Felix MacDough Says:

    I’m a minstrel and I’m blessed by reading your message
    Thank you

  22. Thank you Jason for this information. I have been the Praise Team leader for several years, I have taken a sabbatical due to being led to work in the prophetic realm as a psalmist. Often during the service my pastor will ask me to sing in order to set the atmosphere so even though a psalmist I would like more info on this. I grew up in a Baptist church, I am now in a apostolic church. I have sung in several states and cities and wanting to study and learn to hear what God will have me sing in the spirit. Im a newbie. JJ

  23. I really appreciate your post. It so insightful and revelational. More grace to you

  24. Reblogged this on lookuponme and commented:
    Elisha knew that when he called the Minstrel forth, the anointing upon the musician would create an atmosphere conducive to hearing the the Lord. *copied*

  25. Patricia, a lover of God's Presence Says:

    Hey Jason!
    This is an amazing teaching. I am a member of the praise and worship team in our church and right now the team is being renovated . We are currently seeking to hear from God on what He wants us to do and why He has called each of us to this type of ministry so that we can be more effective for the kingdom of God. Today I was looking for what God would have us to do as minstrels and I was led to read this teaching. I am so grateful I did. I am going to share with my team. God is so amazing and I thank Him for your obedience in pouring out what the Father has given you to pour out unto His people. May God continue to strengthen you, grace you and continously refreshen the anointing in you to do His work. In the name of Jesus. Amen.
    Also, I’d like to ask for a favor. Is it possible to correct the 1 Samuel scripture here? I know this was a typo because what follows is correct but it says the the scriptue that talks about Saul calling for the skillful prayer is 1 Samuel 17:17 but the correct one is 1 Samuel 16:17. Thanks so much! I just don’t want anyone to be turned away because the scripture is not right (people can be that petty) but this is a great teaching with amazing revelation and i dont want anyone to miss it. I appreciate it. Stay blessed brother!

  26. Reblogged this on Life and Sound and commented:
    Minstrel and Psalmist

  27. I LOVE YOUR PASSION FOR GOD’S PRESCENCE.

  28. I thank you for this valuable and timely information. I am a Psalmist and I have a great need to understand my role in God’s kingdom and in the church. Truly, I am thankful for the anointing that God gave me and the calling on my life. I can’t explain it all but I know that God has given me a chance to praise Him and to usher others into His presence. He also gave me the gift of writing poetry and prose that give Him all of the glory, and open the understanding of others. I am grateful to God.

Leave a Reply

